It’s OKAY to be a non-girly girl

Dear Reader(s)

For those of you who don’t know me, I am a non-girly girl. This means that I am a normal female, but I’m more comfortable in track pants, t shirts, takkies, sneakers, messy hair, no make-up on a daily basis etc. 

And I believe that’s perfectly fine. It doesn’t make me any less of a female. I’m just different. In most cases, being different is good. But in all cases, being yourself is most important. 

If you aren’t comfortable in something, dont wear it. If you aren’t comfortable going somewhere, don’t go. Be true to yourself, be content. It’s the only way to be happy and at peace with yourself.

I ain’t a size 10 with a “perfect figure”. And by “perfect figureI” I mean society’s perception of perfect – we all know what that is. 

I need you to remember that what society thinks of us, are the least of our problems. The next time you worry about what someone has said about you or the way you dress – Ask yourself, Is he/she paying your bills? Your rent? Your insurance? Your fuel/transport expenses? Lays the food on your table? If the answer to these are NO… Girl, you gotta get your big-girl boots on and show them, you ain’t no weakling. You don’t lose sleep over petty pieces in society. We are better than that, instead of criticising others, we help them.

When someone is nasty or treats you poorly, don’t take it personally. It says nothing about you but alot about them.

-Unknown

Leave a Reply

